X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The Artist Routine

I also posted this under the name of Psych on NYC Sarge. The name Psych was already taken on this forum.

Here is how it works.

To introduce, open your arms and hands to show you are not hiding anything. Make eye contact with the subject as you ask:

You: I'm a [writer, actor, painter, singer, exc.], what kind of artist are you?

The most common reply to this (99% of the time) is going to be:

HB10,000: Huh? What do you mean?

Note :: If she gives a solid answer (IE "I'm a painter", or I'm a singer") tell her you thought she would say that and jump to the cold read (below). If she is a singer, say you could tell by how she controls her voice. If she is a painter, say she has a painters hand. If she is an actress, say you could tell by the way she carries herself.

Now you have her interest, lets get in to the body of the routine!

This is based on the idea that all people are artistic, and all people are more artistic in one way more than any other. Art, at its core, is nothing more than self expression, so we are always being artistic. After hanging out and spending a year across the street from an art school, I learned that everybody has their own artistic outlet, and there were a few central forms of art that you can use for a cold reading.

Reply to her:

PUA: Everybody is artistic in some way. Some people like to paint, or sing, or whatever, but most people are more subtle about it. They usually end up writing, or drawing in their free time, or making random crafts. What is your artistic outlet?

HB: Oh, well I have to think about that ...

Give her a few seconds ...

HB: Well I guess I'm a [insert art form here]

Here is a loose list of interpretations. Technically she can say anything here. The few below will account for most of the replies, but be ready to improvise!