X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• beating cognitive dissonance

I've been poor all my adult life. It sucks, but I'm doing something about it. I'm studying Forex investing daily. One of the guys in the Forex thread warned about cognitive dissonance. It's where your mind is so used to one thing that it creates an artificial ceiling. You're comfortable with one reality and then anything else contradicts it, even something good, you feel uncomfortable. Someone who's used to being poor will start to become successful, but it will feel weird and then he'll unconsciously sabotage it.

Wow, have I ever felt this. When studying wealth building, a big part of me says, "Oh, bullshit, that can't happen." So, I've put together a strategy for beating cognitive dissonance. Here it is:

1. Regular deep meditation in which I in great detail visualize already being wealthy.
    2. Daily reframing of all poverty mentality. If any negative thoughts to the effect of I can't be wealthy come into my head, I immediately reframe thing into ideas that empower me toward wealth. Then I use those reframes in my meditation.
    3. Associate with people who are already wealthy. As of yet, that's mostly online. I still have to deal with poverty-minded people because I'm still working in my butt slam shitty job. I'm searching for better, but I can't walk out till I find better work. Any poverty mentality that emanates from my coworkers I immediately reframe.
    4. Consistent study of wealth building.

Do you think I have my bases covered? Or is there more I should do to beat cognitive dissonance?

thats awesome man, do you have any stuff on the meditation part though. Like books or techniques to check out?

Comment